We Must Keep Trying, Tuesday is Important


These fracking bills that the oil companies and our Department of Environmental Protection want passed in Florida will be voted on in committees on Tuesday  in Tallahassee.  Please try to go to speak against them to the legislators, but if you cannot go, please call each one and them how bad fracking will be for Florida.

Fracking is coming to Florida and now is the time to stop it before it gets entrenched.  Those who do not oppose it are helping the petroleum industry by their silence.  If you care for our aquifer just think a little and inform yourself of the basics, and remember that the oil companies’ lobbyists are at the meetings, along with their supporters such as the DEP, Associated Industries of Florida,  and many legislators.   OSFR has seen them at every meeting we have attended.  We need your help and if you love the rivers of Florida, the Suwannee, Ichetucknee, Santa Fe, Withlacoochee, get activated and make some phone calls, take a trip to Tallahassee and let them know you do not want them to destroy our water resources.

The DEP writes more and more permits for drilling every year.  Their business is to issue permits, and the fact that they are now defending the fracking bills which will enable and encourage fracking, and the fact that the fracking lobbyists are defending these bills in the Legislature are a strong indicator that interest is mounting and the issue is drawing nigh.


Here is the list of people to call — tell them what you want–their job is to listen to you and protect our waters.

Table 1 Appropriations Subcommittee on General Government 

SB 1468 Fracking Permitting

Senator Phone number / Zip Code Counties they represent Springs
Chair Alan Hays (R)
[email protected]
Umatilla 32784
The Villages 32159
Clermont 34711
Lake, Marion, Orange, Sumter Alexander, Rainbow, Silver, Rock, Gum, Wekiwa
Vice Chair Oscar Braynon (D)
[email protected]
Miami Gardens 33169
Broward, Miami-Dade None (Everglades)
Thad Altman (R)
[email protected]
Cape Canaveral 32920
Sebastian 32958
Brevard, Indian River None (Indian River)
Charles Dean (R)
[email protected]
Inverness 34450
Ocala 34471
Baker, Citrus, Columbia, Dixie, Gilchrist, Lafayette, Levy, Suwannee, Union, Marion Homosassa, Santa Fe, (Steinhatchee River Rise) Devils Eye, Hart, Ginnie, Otter, Rock Bluff, Convict, Fanning, Manatee, Wekiva, Ichetucknee, Peacock, Worthington,
Tom Lee (R)
[email protected]
Brandon 33511
Hillsborough Eureka, Lithia, Sulphur
Gwen Margolis (D)
[email protected]
Miami 33137
Miami-Dade None (Everglades)
Wilton Simpson (R)
[email protected]
New Port Richey 34656
Brooksville 34605
Hernando, Pasco, Sumter Weeki Wachee, Crystal,

Table 2 Governmental Oversight and Accountability Committee 

SB 1582 Public Records / Trade Secrets (MOST CRITICAL TO Kill)

Senator / email Phone number all (850) areacode/ Zip Code Counties
Chair Jeremy Ring (D)
[email protected]
(850) 487-5029
Margate 33063
Vice Chair Alan Hays
[email protected]
(850) 487-5011
Umatilla 32784
The Villages 32159
Clermont 34711
Lake, Marion, Orange & Sumter
Dwight Bullard
[email protected]
(850) 487-5039
Cutler Bay 33189
Hendry, Monroe, Collier & Miami-Dade
Jack Latvala
[email protected]
(850) 487-5029
Margate 33063
John Legg
[email protected]
(850) 487-5017
Lutz 33548
Hillsborough & Pasco

1 Comment

Back to top
Skip to content